Become Ocean

Hosted by the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra
South Dakota Symphony Orchestra (Courtesy SDSO)

This is a Campfire Plus event.

The South Dakota Symphony Orchestra opens its 95th season with three meditations on the beauty, power, and majesty of the earth’s most abundant resource. Wagner’s Ring cycle begins and ends in the waters of the Rhine; Debussy’s masterpiece captures the sea during various times and moods. The SDSO lends its voice to the 2016 Centennial celebration of the Pulitzer Prize by performing 2014 winner John Luther Adams’ Become Ocean. The New Yorker’s Alex Ross said: “There are shocks of beauty, shocks of feeling, shocks of insight. Such were  the virtues of John Luther Adams’ Become Ocean.”

Wagner – “Entry of the Gods into Valhalla” from Das Rheingold

Debussy – La mer

Adams – Become Ocean