Gather in Poems with the Academy of American Poets Chancellors

Hosted by the Academy of American Poets
Panelist and 2012 Poetry winner Tracy K. Smith reads from her work. (Heather Kresge/University of Pittsburgh)

Join us for an evening with the esteemed poets who serve on the Board of Chancellors of the Academy of Poets as they read from their work and reflect on how sharing poems can create a sense of community.

With readings by Ellen Bass, past Poetry jury chair Marilyn Chin, Kwame Dawes, 2021 Poetry winner Natalie Diaz, past Poetry jury chair Nikky Finney, 2019 Poetry winner Forrest Gander, Joy Harjo, Terrance Hayes, 1994 Poetry finalist Brenda Hillman, Marie Howe, 2020 Poetry finalist Dorianne Laux, 2012 Poetry winner Tracy K. Smith, David St. John, 2007 Poetry winner Natasha Trethewey, and Kevin Young.

Established in 1946, the Board of Chancellors is an elected group of distinguished poets who advise the Academy of American Poets on artistic matters, judge its largest legacy prizes, and serve as ambassadors for poetry.

This event is free to attend and open to the public. Closed captioning will be provided. If you cannot attend the live broadcast, replay will be available on Crowdcast immediately following the event.

-- from the organization

Register for the event (scheduled for 7:00 p.m. Eastern time) here.